Running a Test

Before running a test a scenario must be created. To see how to do this click here.

Contents

Adding a scenario to the project

  • Use the "Add Scenario" button to import a saved scenario to the project.
  • Use the "Create Scenario" button to add an empty scenario in the project and open the Scenario Builder to edit it,
  • A scenario can be added multiple times to a project.
  • Once a scenario is added, select it from the list to edit its name, description and run options.
  • Any changes made to the name will only be displayed once the project is saved.

Editing a scenario

  • Selecting a scenario from the project and selecting "Edit Scenario" will open the Scenario Builder.
  • This instance of the scenario is loaded from memory and any changes are saved automatically to the current project.
  • Editing a scenario from the project will not edit the file the scenario was saved to.
  • If multiple instances of the same scenario is added to a project, each scenario must be edited separately.
  • Any changes made to the scenario are saved to the project.

Run Options

When multiple scenarios exist in the same project the scenarios can be run using one of two options:
Concurrently or sequentially. This option is set by the tickbox "Run Scenarios Concurrently".
  • If the option is set to true (default), all scenarios start in their own thread at the start of the test.
  • If the option is set to false, each scenario will begin once the preceding scenario completes.

To edit the run options for each individual scenario, select it from the list.
The following screenshot shows the run options for each scenario.

runoptions.jpg
  • Virtual Users: This indicates the maximum number of times the scenario is run.
  • Run Mode: This indicates how the scenario is run and has three options
    • Concurrent: All virtual users begin execution at the start of the scenario.
    • Sequential: Each virtual users starts once the previous user has finished.
    • Ramp up: Starts with a small number of users and increases the number of users after a time period. This mode can use one of two options for stopping the test.
      • Once the total number of users reaches the Virtual Users count.
      • Once a defined time period has passed.

Last edited Jun 1, 2012 at 3:01 AM by Thkng, version 7

Comments

No comments yet.